UTEP Honors Convocation Celebrates Top Faculty, Staff and Students

UTEP Honors Convocation Celebrates Top Faculty, Staff and Students

What: UTEP Honors Convocation

When: 2 p.m. Sunday, April 21

Where: Magoffin Auditorium


The University of Texas at El Paso will salute academic and professional excellence in the UTEP community during the annual Honors Convocation.

Each spring, the University recognizes outstanding students, staff and faculty in areas of service, leadership and academics. Among them will be Benjamin Alire Sáenz, chair of the Department of Creative Writing at UTEP and winner of the 2013 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction, America's largest peer juried prize for fiction.

UTEP President Diana Natalicio will present the University’s Distinguished Achievement Award, the highest honor given to faculty and staff members for excellence in service to students and the University.

Numerous awards will be presented, including Professors Emeriti and the UTEP Top Ten Senior Awards, which are given to students who have achieved success academically and through their University and community involvement.

The event is free and open to the public. The ceremony is approximately two hours long and will conclude with an informal reception in the UTEP Union Plaza. 

Media note:  For one-on-one interviews with University officials or awardees prior to the event, please arrive at least 30 minutes before the ceremony.