UTEP President Nominated for Texan of the Year

The University of Texas at El Paso’s President, Diana Natalicio, has been nominated for Texan of the Year.

The Dallas Morning News will select the Texan of the Year and announce the winner Dec. 30. The winner will be “A Texan (or Texans) who has had uncommon impact – either positive or negative – over the past year,” according to www.dallasnews.com.

The nomination letter from UTEP Alumna Catalina Garcia, a Dallas physician who was born and raised in El Paso, was printed in the Dallas Morning News on Dec. 13.  Garcia was the first Mexican-American to graduate from The University of Texas Southwestern Medical School and serves as principal of the Dallas Anesthesiology Group, P.A.

To read Garcia’s nomination letter, click here.