UT Regents Bestow Prestigious Honor on 8 UTEP Faculty

The University of Texas System Board of Regents will honor eight UTEP faculty members for their extraordinary classroom performance and innovation in undergraduate instruction during a special presentation this week in Austin.

The eight are among the 63 faculty from the system’s nine academic institutions who will receive the Board’s Outstanding Teaching Awards at 6:30 p.m. Wednesday, Aug. 21, in UT Austin’s Etter-Harbin Alumni Center. The 39 winners from the system’s six health institutions were honored in July. These awards are the highest honor the Board can bestow.

“We happily celebrate the selection of these eight UTEP faculty members who join the proud ranks of previous Outstanding Teaching Award winners on our campus,” said UTEP President Diana Natalicio. “This recognition by the UT System Board of Regents is a testament to the remarkable work that is being done by our dedicated faculty members, who so positively impact the lives of our students and the surrounding region. We thank the Regents for creating this prestigious award that honors teaching excellence, and we congratulate this year’s winners on this well-deserved recognition of their success.”  

The 2013 recipients from The University of Texas at El Paso are Charles R. Boehmer, Ph.D., associate professor of political science; Ann Gabbert, Ph.D., associate director for student support and lecturer in the Entering Student Program; Gaspare M. Genna, Ph.D., associate professor of political science; John Hadjimarcou, Ph.D., professor and chair of marketing and management; Dave McIntyre, senior lecturer of art; James M. Salvador, Ph.D., associate professor of chemistry; Cigdem V. Sirin, Ph.D., assistant professor of political science; and Ron Wagler, Ph.D., assistant professor of teacher education.

Each honoree will receive a medallion, commemorative certificate and an unrestricted $25,000 check. The awards are among the most competitive nationwide and one of the nation’s largest monetary teaching recognition programs in higher education. The Regents will award nearly $1.6 million to honor teachers this week. They have given $12 million since the program started in 2008. Separate awards for health institutions started four years later.

 “Our faculty members are the heart and soul of our institutions, and they are the most critical factor in student success,” said UT System Board of Regents Chairman Gene Powell. “The Board created the ROTA program because of our respect and appreciation for these outstanding teachers, and because we want to make sure our institutions continue to be places of educational excellence.”

Peers, students, and external reviewers rigorously evaluated the faculty nominees on an assortment of classroom criteria such as curricula quality, student performance, subject expertise and innovative course development.

The recipients were grateful for the professional recognition. Many said they were humbled by the honor and shared the credit with their University colleagues and talented graduate and undergraduate students who have helped them through their years of service.